PHGOV CHED Home Transparency Seal Freedom of Information Citizen's Charter Careers Feedback Contact Us
  • Philippine Standard Time


News Image

Strengthening Research Collaborations with NSYSU's VP for Research and Development, Prof. Chua-Chin Wang

The TUP Manila College of Engineering Dean's Office hosted the visit of Prof. Chua-Chin Wang, Ph.D., Vice President for Research and Development of the National Sun Yat-sen University (NSYSU), Kaohsiung, Taiwan. He delivered a talk about the "Development of a FinFET CMOS CIM (Computing-in-Memory) Using OTP-like Kernel Memory for AI Applications."

As one of the foreign project collaborators, Prof. Wang, met with Assoc. Prof. Engr. Lean Karlo S. Tolentino, PECE, Ph.D. (Dean; PhD EE Alumnus, 2024, NSYSU) on the Php 42M DOST grant Computing in Memory project with the project members, students, and officials of TUP Manila Campus. The project, which will be hosted by TUP IRTC's Center for Artificial Intelligence and Nanoelectronics (CAIN), will commence on May 1, 2024 and will end on April 30, 2026. CAIN services will include providing AI, computing, programming, IC Design, embedded systems, macro-, micro-, nanoelectronic and microcomputer prototyping, and other related research and technical extension services catered to all students, faculty members, and employees of TUP System and partner universities for free and to external clients with pay.

Project members include Dr. Tolentino (Project Leader), Engr. Lejan Alfred Enriquez (TUP Integrated Research and Training Center), Dr. Oliver Lexter July Jose (Batangas State University - The National Engineering University), Dr. Ralph Gerard Sangalang (Batangas State University - The National Engineering University), and Dr. Ira Valenzuela-Estropia (De La Salle University).

Officials of the TUP System acknowledged and thanked Prof. Wang for his contributions. Some of the officials present include VP for Academic Affairs Dr. Ryan Reyes, VP for Planning, Development, and Special Projects Dr. Connie Aunario, Research and Development Services Director Dr. Francisco Esponilla II, Graduate Program Director Dr. Melbern Rose Maltezo, Alumni Affairs Director Dr. Arjun Ansay, Dean Dr. Michael Bhobet Baluyot (Liberal Arts), Dean Dr. Apollo Portez (Industrial Education), Dean Elpidio Virrey (Industrial Technology), Dean Elpidio Balais, Jr. (Architecture and Fine Arts), Dean Dr. Joshua Soriano (Science), Asst. Prof. Dr. Aldrin G. Chang (Physics Dept Head/PhD Physics Alumnus, NSYSU) and Assoc. Prof. Engr. Teodinis Garcia (former IRTC Director/Head, Civil Engg).